The SETAC Europe Certification of Environmental Risk Assessors was established to develop a certification for professionals working in the field of environmental risk assessment. Experts from industry, academia and governmental institutions should share the same high standards and broad understanding of risk assessment principles to ensure the safe use of chemicals.


Eligibility requirements for admission:

  • An applicant must possess a Master´s of Science degree or doctoral degree in a field relevant for environmental risk assessment (e.g. biology, ecology, toxicology, chemistry, statistics, or environmental science) AND at least 4 years of job experiences in an environmental risk assessment context. 

  • Applicants without a Master´s or doctoral degree will be evaluated based on their professional experiences.

Admission is granted by the Certification Programme Committee

To check the eligibility applicants must submit:

  • A full curriculum vitae
  • Copies of the latest degree including transcriptions or a list of courses passed*
  • Proof of at least 4 years of hands-on experiences in an ERA job, either in an industry, a consultancy, or a government context, by reference in the curriculum vitae or by a letter from the employer.

*The Certification Programme Committee can ask for certified true copies of the diplomas and official transcript in English of the degree.

Training and Expertise

To ensure all Certified Environmental Risk Assessors share the same high standards and broad understanding of risk assessment principles, nine environmental risk assessment topics and areas of expertise have been developed. These nine areas provide a solid scientific basis and need to be mastered by the applicants.

  1. Ecology concepts, principles and processes
  2. Concepts and principles in regulatory ecotoxicology, environmental risk assessment and relevant legislative frameworks
  3. Environmental chemistry: fate of chemicals in the environment
  4. Environmental chemistry: exposure estimation of chemicals in the environment
  5. Sub-organism level (eco)toxicology (mechanistic toxicology): molecular, cellular, biochemical and physiological effect and biomarkers
  6. Organism-level ecotoxicology
  7. Supra-oganism level ecotoxicology or “chemical stress ecology”: effects of chemicals at population-, community-, ecosystem- and landscape-level
  8. Retrospective risk assessment: chemical- and bio-monitoring of exposure and effects
  9. Statistics for environmental risk assessors

Basic Knowledge

Applicants must demonstrate a broad basic knowledge in all nine CRA topics by passing the multiple-choice examination. Read more >

Advanced Knowledge

Applicants must have a in-depth knowledge in two out of the nine topics. This will be accomplished by a combination of educational training and experience and tested in the final oral examination.

Continued Professional Development

to ensure up-to-date knowledge with current methods in environmental risk assessment and consists of:

1. Specialised Training Courses

At least one specialised course or training in the last two years equivalent to three (3) credits. The specialised courses should have a close link with current practices in risk assessment. One credit equals 28 hours of total study load and can be completed by one or several courses combined.

2. Conference Participation

Keep to-to-date with the newest developments by at least one active participation in a conference or symposia in the last 2 years.

Professional Experience

At least 5 years* of professional experience as an environmental risk assessor, either in an industry, a consultancy or a government context.

Applicants must master various aspects of environmental risk assessment: Data collection, quality screening and data selection, selection and use of appropriate methods and models for exposure and effect assessment, performing exposure, effect and risk assessment, writing a risk assessment report and presenting clear conclusions about risks (and if applicable possible mitigation measures), communicate about the risks and present a dossier.

*No strict time period can be given, as most importantly sufficient experience is gained to pass the final oral CRA examination. This may differ depending on the background and education of the candidate.

Oral Examination

The final examination consists of an oral presentation (of a risk assessment case) followed by a discussion with an Examination Panel. Applicants must demonstrate their expertise and capacity to perform at a high level in an environmental risk assessment profession following up-to-date standards and scientific methods.

Applicants must submit a certification dossier to establish the eligibility for the examination and an environmental risk assessment report in preparation for the examination.


Applicants who have passed all parts of the process and the final oral examination will receive a certificate and are registered as a SETAC Europe Certified Environmental Risk Assessor. The term of certification is for five years.

View our current Certified Environmental Risk Assessors.


On 2 June 2021, the International Board of Environmental Risk Assessors (IBERA) was incorporated. IBERA will manage the global environmental risk assessor certification program as a new, independent, not-for-profit organization. IBERA will promote scientific progress in environmental risk assessment, encourage education and training, and establish an international certification program that will allow professionals to become a certified specialist or diplomate in environmental risk assessment. After a transition period until the 3rd June 2025, IBERA will replace the current CRA program and current SETAC Europe certified experts will be automatically granted the IBERA diplomate status, if they apply.

The recertification will be managed by the International Board of Environmental Risk Assessors and will no longer be possible in the SETAC Europe Certification of Environmental Risk Assessors programme.